Useful recovery links

These are links to some other organisations you may find useful. However, we cannot accept liability for the content or policies of any of these sites.

12-Step programmes

Al-Anon and Alateen www.al-anonuk.org.uk
Alcoholics Anonymouswww.alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk
Cocaine Anonymouswww.cauk.org.uk
Co-Dependents Anonymous (CoDA)www.coda-uk.org
Debtors Anonymousdebtorsanonymous.org.uk
Dual Diagnosis Anonymousddauk.org
Gamblers Anonymouswww.gamblersanonymous.org.uk
Narcotics Anonymouswww.ukna.org
Overeaters Anonymous Great Britainwww.oagb.org.uk

Other charities

Aisling Return to Ireland Project: helping Irish people reconnect with home – www.aisling.org.uk
MIND (services in Lambeth & Southwark): ‘For better mental health’ – lambethandsouthwarkmind.org.uk
The Forward Trust (formerly RAPt – Rehabilitation for Addicted Prisoners Trust): ‘Bringing lasting change’ – www.forwardtrust.org.uk
ScotsCare: ‘A friend for Scots in London’ – www.scotscare.com
SCT (Spitalfields Crypt Trust): support and training in recovery in East London – www.sct.org.uk
SSAFA (The Armed Forces Charity) – www.ssafa.org.uk
Veterans Aid: ‘Caring for veterans in crisis’ – www.veterans-aid.net

Lifelong learning

CityLit: ‘Where London learns … the centre of adult learning’ – www.citylit.ac.uk
Hillcroft College: ‘The national residential college for women’ – www.hillcroft.ac.uk
Lambeth College: ‘The careers college’ – www.lambethcollege.ac.uk
Lewisham and Southwark College: vocational courses & apprenticeships – www.lesoco.ac.uk
Morley College: ‘Learning for life’ – www.morleycollege.ac.uk
National Literacy Trust: ‘Words for life’ – www.literacytrust.org.uk
Open Book, Goldsmiths, University of London: ‘Education for education’s sake’ – www.gold.ac.uk/open-book/

VOLUNTEERING IN SOUTHWARK

Community Southwark – news, jobs, community action, events & training for volunteers: communitysouthwark.org

Legal help

Cambridge Housewww.ch1889.org
Citizens Advicewww.citizensadvice.org.uk
Unlock: ‘For people with convictions’ – www.unlock.org.uk

Performing arts

Cardboard Citizens: ‘Changing lives of the homeless and displaced through the performing arts’ – www.cardboardcitizens.org.uk
CoolTan Arts (‘mental well-being enhanced by the power of creativity’, walks and workshops) – www.cooltanarts.org.uk
The Outside Edge: ‘Chemically Independent Theatre’ – edgetc.org
Two Boroughs project at the Young Vic: community theatre for residents of Lambeth and Southwark – www.youngvic.org

Regulator

Care Quality Commission: ‘Our job is to check whether hospitals, care homes and care services are meeting national standards’ – www.cqc.org.uk